COULD YOUR SMARTPHONE DETECT EARTHQUAKES?

English: 1999 Earthquakes Located by the NEIC

English: 1999 Earthquakes Located by the NEIC (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Collecting accurate, real-time data on earthquakes has always been a problem for seismologists. But a tiny sensor found in smartphones could  help fill in the gaps by instantly turning your mobile phone into an earthquake  sensor. The chip, originally intended to change the orientation of the screen, can detect earthquakes greater than a magnitude of 5,  according to a new study. Known as a Micro-Electro-Mechanical System (MEMS) accelerometer, the sensors measures the rate of acceleration of ground motion and vibration of cars, buildings and installations.

And that’s precisely why I keep my smartphone out of the bedroom, you see there is always seismic activity in my bed! So much so, my local authority has recently increased my council tax to take into account the damage my earthquake epicentre zone causes to nearby properties. I can’t help being a great lover! Why, any of my plethora of lovers will tell you tremors are de rigueur!

11 thoughts on “COULD YOUR SMARTPHONE DETECT EARTHQUAKES?

  1. There a couple of interesting points more than time here but I don’t know if I see them all center to heart. There exists some validity but Let me take hold opinion until I appear into it further. Very very good post , thanks and now we want a lot more! Included with FeedBurner at the same time

  2. Great – I really should surely pronounce, impressed with your web site. I had no trouble navigating via all of the tabs and related info ended up being truly simple to do to access. I recently found what I hoped for before you know it inside the least. Reasonably unusual. Is likely to appreciate it for those who add forums or anything, web website theme . a tones way for your customer to communicate. Good task.

  3. I always check out your blog and retrieve everything you post here but I never commented but today when I saw this post, I couldn’t stop myself from commenting here. Fantastic write-up mate!

  4. I have been browsing on-line greater than 3 hours today, but I by no means found any interesting write-up like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me. In my see, if all webmasters and bloggers made excellent material material as you in all probability did, the net will almost certainly be much more useful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

