BITE ME…WILL I NOT BLEED?

English: Luis Suarez made by Paul Blank of www...

English: Luis Suarez made by Paul Blank of http://www.postproduktie.nl Nederlands: Luis Suarez, foto gemaakt door Paul Blank in 2009, http://www.postproduktie.nl/voetbal/Luis-Suarez.htm . (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve just heard that Liverpool striker Luis Suarez has received an immediate 10-game ban by the Football Association for biting Chelsea defender Branislav Ivanovic. Frankly my sympathies are with the biter, not the bitee. I know that Premiership clubs keep their top players on a strict diet, but I do feel Suarez should have been fed prior to the start of the match. By-the-by, when I was a kid sometimes the only way to get past a defender was to bite him.

My defence of Suarez continues with the citing of ‘Cultural Differences.’  When I was last in Uruguay many, many people tried to bite me. Initially I thought it was because I was fat and tasty looking. Not so! Apparently friendships are cemented in Uruguay by biting one-another. I further submit that Luis Suarez merely wanted to befriend Branislav Ivanovic.  (Do you know what, I should have been a bleedin’ barrister.)

Leave a comment